Onion & Basil Oatcake

I’ve made many variations of pancakes over the years and these are currently number 1 in my books! I made them for my co-workers for our pot-luck brunch last week and they all loved them. PB Fingers is right, they taste like oatmeal cookies! Delish!!

I adjusted the recipe slightly to make them GF. I find GF oats don’t absorb as much liquid as regular oats so I reduced the liquid, added an egg so the batter stays together better and added baking powder to help leaven them a bit more.

Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes

1 c. GF oats
2 tbsp. brown sugar
1 tbsp. chia seeds
1 tbsp. flax seeds (or another tbsp. of chia seeds)
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 tbsp. melted coconut oil
3/4 c. almond milk
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1 egg mixed
Lots of cinnamon (2 tsp +)

Mix all ingredients together. Let sit for 15 minutes for the oats to absorb liquid. Scoop 1/4 cup for each cake onto hot non-stick/oiled pan.

But of course with this whole new GF thang I can’t be eating sweets all the time so why not make them just as delish in a savory version.

Onion & Basil Oatcakes

1 c. GF oats
1 tsp. nutritional yeast (creates a zingy/cheesy flavour and packs a protein punch!)
1 tbsp. chia seeds
1 tbsp. flax seeds (or another tbsp. of chia seeds)
1/4 onion
1 clove of pressed garlic
1/2 tsp. dried basil
1/2 tsp. baking powder
3/4 c. vegetable broth
1 egg mixed

Mix all ingredients together. Let sit for 15 minutes for the oats to absorb liquid. Scoop 1/4 cup for each cake onto hot non-stick/oiled pan.

The BEST part is that after you cook the oatcakes you can stick them in the freezer for a later date and toast or defrost them when needed!

I doubled the recipe and got 9 oatcakes. Each one comes out at 142 cal. Nice replacement for bread I think 🙂

Question of the day: What other varieties sound delish to you?? I am thinking rosemary and black pepper or cilantro and lime.
