Blueberry and Banana Overnight Oats

My brother Scott is visiting from Toronto with a friend who is vegan. Now what does this mean?! This means a lot of arm-pit rubs, punches and headlocks from the brother and me being able to get creative in the kitchen to feed his friend! So what did I make? Overnight oats of course!

Overnight oats seem to be all over the Blogosphere and I can understand why. They are a quick and delicious option for time-crunched mornings. Now many of you may be going “eww soggy slimy oats who would want to eat that” but trust me they aren’t what you think and in my opinion they tasted better than cooked oatmeal!

1/3 cup GF oats
1 tbsp. chia seeds
couple shakes of cinnamon (I like more than a couple 🙂 )
pinch of salt
1 scoop Vanilla Nutrimeal or other protein powder
2/3 cup almond milk
1/3 cup frozen or fresh blueberries

Mix all ingredients in a bowl the night before or 2 hours if you want it for lunch. Top with favourite toppings. I used frozen banana slices and coconut manna.

Frozen banana slices are the bomb. When the banana freezes it changes the texture and it becomes very creamy, almost ice cream like. To do this, peel ripened bananas and place in ziploc bag in freezer for future use. Yum!

Also, note that the chia seeds are key as they absorb a lot of liquid so don’t skip out on them. Plus they have more omega’s than flax and have tons of fibre! Yummy and healthy, what?!?

Dig in and enjoy. I sure did!

P.S. If you can’t handle them cold, you can always heat up the next morning or at work in the microwave.

Question of the Day: Have you tried overnight oats before?! 

