So as most of you know, I have moved to Calgary to pursue my MSc in School and Applied Child Psychology. So far everything has been great and has run quite smoothly, minus a minor last minute re-packing job of my suitcases on the floor of the airport because one of my suitcases weighed as much as a cargo shipment… Wooops!! I have a lot of clothes. Enough said.

After being picked up from the airport by a friend of my brothers friend, gotta love nice people, and dropped off at my cousins, I picked up my new vehicle! O my gosh, the Toyota Rav 4 drives like butter compared to my little Kia Rio. Also, having power lock and air conditioning doesn’t hurt ๐Ÿ™‚

In the last couple of days I have been able to organize my room and I am pretty impressed with my self! I am loving my new sheets and the decorative jars I brought along. Yes mom, this is why my backpack weighed so much… BUT they are sooo pretty!

Bed

Room

I also managed to get myself to the campus gym a couple times this week which was much needed after a week of only napping and two power walks with mom. The gym is nice but I can only imagine how packed it will be. It is about half the size of ISC. The weight selection is great and there is a lot of cardio equipment but there is already one thing that bugs me about this gym. The treadmill includes a TV monitor built right into it!

Now your probably going, well thats fantastic you can watch TV while you exercise, but no, when I watch the screen I start to get a headache from the bouncing and media overload because it is so close to your face. Nice try LifeFitness but I DO NOT like your new treadmill. Also, more importantly, it blocks my view of people watching in the gym! This is my all time favourite way to pass time and completely zone out. In essence that is what running and working out to me are. They are my zone out, de-stress, and thinking time where I don’t need another computer screen/monitor infront of me. Talk about being plugged in…

That said, I really can’t complain too much, as the membership is free for students! Well maybe just a little ๐Ÿ™‚

I also finished the big grocery shop and wholly smokes, $220 later, I am hopefully set for a while. I did have to stock up on key things and pantry items so hopefully I can keep this down for the next couple of weeks. This will be one of the first times I will have to budget and it kind of scares me. I’ve always had enough to cover my school and the last year of school I worked part-time while living away from home but I won’t be able to work while doing my program.ย Talk about a change. Also, I have never spent so much on stuff I can’t wear. Not cool…

GNC On the Go Blender

Although, I did get this bad boy which I am quite excited about! It is basically a magic bullet but with a bigger cup. Plus it was marked down to $19.99! Thats a steal for this smoothie lovin’ gal ๐Ÿ™‚

I know there will be a couple other big changes that I will have to get used to such as not driving to campus. The parking is $3.50 an hour, which is ridiculous, and all the parking passes are sold out. If you ask me thats nuts…

To combat this I bought a locker. O yes, high school style but only 2 feet tall. Luckily it is in my building so I will be able to drop off my lunch and workout stuff before class.

Seeing as I am a creature of routine, I know this transition is going to be a little rocky for me. I am just hoping I settle in quick. Luckily, this is not near as different as when I moved to England where even the grocery shopping was different!

Anyways off to enjoy the 30 degree weather.

Bow River

Kelly and I rafted down this the other day. It was so relaxing!