After my failed attempt to make Gluten Free Cinnamon Pecan Sticky Buns (see evidence below), I had to get my baking mojo back in check. I started simply by creating a Gingerbread Smoothie and then moved on to create my ultimate favourite christmas cookies – Mini Chip Butter Crisps.

Gluten Free Cinnamon & Pecan Sticky Buns

The sticky buns tasted alright, but the texture was off. They were hard after baking. This may be due to the fact that I refrigerated the dough before baking. It took forever for them to rise and I needed some shut-eye. I won’t share the recipe, as it needs some tweaking. I used sorghum in addition to my GF all-purpose flour and don’t know if this may have affected the texture. Let me know if you have any suggestions!

In the spirit of Christmas, I surprised my mom one morning with a Gingerbread Smoothie. She didn’t know what the flavour was when she first took a sip and was pleasantly surprised! This smoothie is nice and spicy. Definitely a delicious and healthy way to start your morning during the holidays. Especially, with all the indulgent foods lurking around the kitchen counters screaming, “Lauren, eat me!.”

Gingerbread Smoothie

Ingredients:

3 scoops of Vanilla Nutrimeal (or any other vanilla protein shake you have)
1/2 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1/8 tsp all spice
1 tsp mollasses (blackstrap is preferred)
2 cups of water
ice

Mix all ingredients in blender and enjoy by the Christmas tree. Ahhhh I love the holidays!

Because the smoothie is a super simple recipe, I decided to kick it up a notch and share my favourite christmas cookie recipe. I have been making these cookies for over 10 years now, but this is the first time I have attempted to make them gluten-free. They are a crisp, buttery, flaky, cookie with a touch of chocolate and vanilla. This recipe is from dairy farms and is many, many years old. Delish!

Mini Chip Butter Crisps

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups of gluten free all-purpose flour*
2 tsp xantham gum
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/4 cups unsalted butter
1 cup icing sugar
2 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

* I used Planet Organic All-Purpose Gluten Free Flour. It is made up of rice flour, potato starch and tapioca flour.

1) Stir together flour and salt. 2) Cream butter. Gradually beat in sugar and vanilla. 3) Add dry ingredients to creamed mixture, part at a time. Blend smoothly until combined. 4) Stir in chocolate chips. 5) Form dough into 1-inch balls. 6) Flatten to rounds approximately 2 inches in diameter with bottom of glass dipped in flour. I like to use a glass with a nice design on the bottom. 7) Bake in 325 F oven for 10-11 minutes. Cool.

Decorative Glass for Flattening

This turns to this.

Flattened Rounds

Enjoy these cookies with a glass of milk and perhaps leave one or two out for Santa tonight!

Stay tuned for Gingerbread Biscotti and Toffee Cheesecake! I’ve been a baking machine these last couple of days! I’m a little behind with posting, as I was sidelined on the couch due to the stomach flu or food poisoning, but I will catch up!

Gingerbread Biscotti

Enjoy all the decadent foods this evening. I’m going guilt free and will be diving mouth first in to the cheesecake and ham. Yum! Merry Christmas Eve!

