Nothing made my parent’s house smell and feel like the holidays more than scent of gingerbread permeating throughout the house. Warming all the occupants from the inside out. mmmm

The request for Gingerbread Biscotti came from my mom who loves to snack on it before, during, and after christmas! I happily obliged, as I love dipping biscotti in coffee on rainy days while curling up with a good book.

On a side note, I have finished the Hunger Games series. I was as engaged in reading both the second and third books, as I was in the first book. These books draw you in and leave you wanting more! I couldn’t put them down and finished each book within two and a half days. I highly recommend this series! It’s an effortless read!

Back to the biscotti.. or should I say Bis-Scotty. When my mom asked me to pass her a piece of biscotti, my brother Scott looked over at her funnily, and questioned, “What? You want to eat me?” I love having the whole family together!

Gingerbread Biscotti

Ingredients:

3 cups Bob’s Red Mill GF flour
3 tsp xanthan gum
1 1/ tsp baking powder
4 tsp ginger
2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp fresh cracked black pepper
1 tsp cloves
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 coconut oil unmelted or butter
1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup molasses
2 eggs
3/4 cup slivered almonds

Icing:

1/2 cup icing sugar
1 tsp ginger
1/8 tsp fresh cracked pepper
2 tsp almond milk or enough to desired consistency

1) Cream coconut oil or butter with sugar. 2) Beat in vanilla, molasses and eggs one at a time. 3) In a separate bowl mix flour, spices, baking powder and xanthan gum. 4) Slowly add dry ingredients to wet in the mixing bowl. 5) Add in slivered almonds. 6) Remove dough from mixer and divide in half. 7) Shape the halves into rectangles approximately 3 inches by 8 inches. 8) Bake in 325 F oven for 25 minutes or until center is firm. 8) Remove the loaves from oven and let cool for 10 minutes. 9) When slightly cool, slice diagonally into 3 inch by one inch cookies. 10) Place back on baking sheet and bake in oven for 15 minutes or until crisp. 11) Remove and cool. 12) During the second round of baking, mix the icing by stirring the icing sugar and spices and adding almond milk 1/2 tsp at a time. 13) Transfer the icing to a plastic bag and cut off tip. 14) Draw a decorative design on your biscotti and enjoy! Delish!

Hope you all had a wonderful holidays! I will do a recap of my very busy 3 weeks off soon!

