Basil, Boursin, and Red Pepper Quinoa Salad with Basalmic Vinaigrette

I love Sunday nights. They always make me think back to when I was a kid and my mom would cook five meals in one night, so she was prepared for the week ahead. Lucky for me, I only need to prepare one large meal and it will be sufficient for the week!

I can only imagine how much better this salad is going to be as the days progress and the flavours meld because, as of right now, it’s pretty freaking delicious! Yes, I said freaking. I went there.

1 cup quinoa
2 cups water
1/2 tsp dried rosemary
1 red pepper, diced
1 1/2 – 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar (add to taste)
1 tbsp olive oil
fresh basil leaves, torn
1/2 boursin cheese (goat cheese would work as well)

1). Add quinoa, rosemary and water in a pot. Bring to a boil. Turn down heat to low and simmer for 15-20 minutes until cooked. Remove from heat to cool. 2) Dice red pepper and tear basil. 3) When quinoa is cool (~ 20 minutes in the fridge) add the red pepper and basil. 4) Add oil and balsamic vinegar to taste. I just kept adding the basalmic vinegar until I thought it tasted delicious. Although the measurements above are approximations, they should be decently accurate. 5) Add Boursin. Use chunks of Boursin, as you would goat cheese. 6) Serve as a main or as a side dish.

P.S. If somebody can come up with a better name for this salad, please let me know. Because it is currently a mouthful – albeit, a delicious mouthful!

Enjoy!

