Black Bean Brownie - GF

So I am not putting the secret ingredient of these brownies in the title because it may throw some people off but, trust me, they are delicious and simple. Gluten free and simple don’t usually exist in the same sentence in the baking world. To convert a typical recipe you usually have to mix 3-4 different types of flours, add in some xanthan gum and a pinch of pixie dust.

With the addition of black beans this also means they are healthy right?? Protein, chocolate, and nuts. What more do you want?!

The original recipe can be found here. This recipe only uses 1/2 of sugar too which is fantastic! The only things I changed was using coconut oil instead of butter and using raw cocoa powder instead of regular cocoa powder.

Coconut oil is my go to oil now for baking as it has a high smoking point so you don’t have to worry about it turning into a trans-fat before your eyes. Also, coconut oil is a medium chain tryglyceride which your body uses differently than other fats. Most fats are stored in your body’s cells, but the fat in coconut oil goes directly to your liver, where it is converted to energy. To read more about coconut oil and it’s benefits check out the Natural Health Sherpa. Added bonus, it adds another fabulous flavour to your baking!

I have also converted to using Organic Raw Cocoa compared to processed cocoa as it is non-alkalized. The alkalization process reduces the amount of anti-oxidant rich polyphenolic compounds such as flavonoids in cocoa powder. To read more, check it out here. I don’t know about you, but I love my chocolate so I want the most nutritional bang for my buck! Plus, it’s a good excuse to eat more 🙂

Question of the Day: Any specific baking substitutions you always use? Do you use coconut oil?

