With work getting more hectic leading into Stampede  this weekend was a welcome break. I really needed to catch up on sleep, reading and of course cooking. As mentioned previously, I love preparing a bunch of things at once on Sunday and not having to cook during the week.

I haven’t been doing this lately and mid-week I get stuck with an o-crap, what do I have to eat?! Pb and toast it is! Luckily my fridge is now stocked with delish eats.

On to the goods:

Roasted Vegetables with a Moroccan Twist ~
Rosemary and Garlic Beef Soup
Strawberry Rhubard spread

Rosemary and Garlic Beef Soup

Soup is one of my favourite things to make. It is simple and always delicious. It almost always tastes better the next day too, as the flavours meld. Good food doesn’t need to be complicated!

1 tsp coconut oil
1 package stew beef chopped into smaller pieces
1 small striploin steak chopped into smaller pieces
1/2 onion chopped
4 large carrots chopped
3 stalks of celery chopped
1 L of beef stock
1 cup of lentil mix
1 tbsp rosemary
2 tsp garlic
1 tsp cayenne
salt and pepper to taste

1) Heat coconut oil on high in pot. 2) Brown the edges of the beef. 3) Add onions and garlic. 4) When beef is 1/2 cooked add chopped carrots and celery. Cook for approximately 7 minutes until the vegetables are tender. 5) Add beef stock, rosemary, cayenne, and lentil mix. 6) Bring the mixture to a boil and then turn down to low heat and simmer for approiximately 45 minutes.

Simple, healthy and delish!

Now on to dessert!

Strawberry-Rhubarb Spread. Looks Gross. Tastes Delish!

I had a bunch of sad strawberries sitting in my fridge when I went to clean it out. Luckily, I brought one of strawberries best friends home – rhubarb.  I love the combination of strawberry and rhubarb. It is the epitome of summer for me.

Sad Strawberries

I wanted to make something simple that I could use as a dessert or throw on top of my morning oatmeal and this will work perfectly. The best part is that I only needed to add 1 tsp of maple syrup. All natural sugars in there baby! I can’t wait to try it on top of some vanilla greek yogurt!

4 stalks of rhubarb
10-12 sad strawberries
1 tsp maple syrup
4 tsp water

1) Chop  rhubarb and strawberries into small pieces. This will help them to cook down. 2) Add water and maple syrup. 3) Cook on a low temperature and stir consistently until half of the fruit cooks down. Usually about 5-10 minutes. I then put a lid on the pot and   let it simmer at a very low temperature stirring every couple of minutes.

Question of the Day: What food reminds you of summer? Pie always reminds me of summer and my favourites are strawberry-rhubarb or blackberry. Yum!

